ANGER ON MY MIND

When Anger Hurts

Posted on: May 5, 2007

I continue to read “When Anger Hurts.” I have been struck by the depth that the authors have taken in writing this book. Touching on the issue of abuse and anger the author notes that in situations where abuse occurs anger is okay and as a matter of fact is necessary for recovery. I have seen many cases of abuse in my career where the abuse not only victimized the individually sexually or physically but also emotionally. The abuser was quick to take away the victim’s desire to set boundaries, to express anger or outrage even. The inability to say “I will not allow you to do this to me” often controls the victim well after the abuse is completed. I am finding that learning how to effectively communicate and appropriately express anger can be an integral part of the treatment of the sexually or physically abused. I am also finding that working with individual cases of abuse using the Anderson and
Anderson workbook can be an effective part of treatment for the abuse victim. This combination of treatments helps to give the victim back their voice and to learn new ways to assert themselves and to get their needs met in appropriate ways. My journey continues. I am only five pages into “When Anger Hurts” and I am learning so much already.

Leave a Reply

May 2007
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 215,663 hits
